Improper Propaganda

Apparently this video is pretty old, but I had the pleasure of viewing it last week when I showed up early for the biggest head-scratcher movie of 2009, Adventureland.

Now I’ve always kept an eye on military advertising – my hat’s off to the Go Army commercials for sucking low-income minorities in to their game of mortal teatherball. They usually create legitimate advertisements that are appealing and clever, that feel patriotic and heroic. At the end of the day, we need an army, and the army needs to recruit people, so within boundaries, these ads are fine with me.

But this particular National Guard ad is sickening for several reasons, principally the way it’s disguised as your average shitty Kid Rock music video (emphasis on the SHITTY – Jesus Christ almighty in the name of the day after Easter – I couldn’t have come up with a more terrible song if I tried), oh and with Dale Jr. cameos here and there.

Don’t get me wrong: Kid Rock is the perfect spokesman for this ad. Ever since Vanilla Ice jacked his original style, Kid found he could make more money by convincing hicks they were hardcore than trying to speak for suburban white hip-hop kids (guilty as charged).

It just feels… I donno… sleazy? I guess I’d just appreciate more honesty from our military’s advertisers. If cigarette advertisers have to display on all their material “this product will kill you,” why doesn’t the army?

-$.

Leave a Reply

